Tutorial on How To Hack Sigmatel’s Driver for Stereo Mix

by

This tutorial is written using Vostro 1500, Vista Ultimate 64bit. [Which means it works for Vostro 1500 lol]

*EDIT – 1 PROBLEM – MY MIC MALFUNCTIONED AFTER STEREO MIX WORKED – Apparently my mic is an array mic, somehow it doesn’t support if it’s in compatibility mode =\ [2:01 AM 8/7/2008]

Basically this works for all Vista-based 32/64bit machine, and supposedly all ranges of Dell laptops [Update — This will not work for XPS users as hardware limitation is imposed 2:25 PM 8/27/2008]. For others I’m not sure.

Edit [11:44 PM 12/23/2008]Thanks to victorco. XPS users take note.

I have a Dell XPS 410/9600 and Vista Home-Premiun. I had the same messages and questions as Brud.

At last I could solve this Stereo-Mix problem, This is what I did:

1. I installed Virtual Audio Cable 4.09 (VAC from Eugene V. Muzychenko).

2. I foollowed the instructions a Korean guy give in: http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/ShowPost.aspx?PageIndex=5&SiteID=1&PageID=5&PostID=1005274

3. That’s it .

I tested with Nero, Camtasia and it worked.

Second Edit [11:50 PM 12/23/2008] Since Xmas is near I decided to be more helpful lol. I looked around for that link and found the post. In case my instructions don’t work, you can try this one *alternative solution* Well if it works you can thank me too I don’t mind =) Check out the footnote part.

First of all, I hereby express that this is according to the sites I found, and tried it myself. Try this at your own risk. All legal actions have been expressively disclaimed. You have been warned.

Now, let’s proceed.

We all know that Sigmatel’s driver in Vista provided either by Dell or if you download it somewhere of the internets, they disabled LineOut, StereoMix, and DigitalMic (for mine). According to what I came across, it’s due to an agreement made by Microsoft and the RIAA (curse copyright).

So, like hell if they would appear in your recording devices in Windows Vista’s mixer even if you select “Show Disabled Devices” or “Show Disconnected Devices“.

Right now, please make sure you have the default installer for Sigmatel’s driver from Dell, just in case if you screw up during the process.

Next, download this driver from DellClick Here and save it to your desktop. Or where ever you want it to be.

Then, right click on the installer, choose Properties. Well I have my UAC disabled so for users with UAC on, you might have to allow access or press OK.

Navigate to the compatibility tab. You should see a list of OS-es at the dropdown menu. Tick the “run this program in compatibility mode” -> Choose Windows XP (SP2), press Apply, and OK.

Now, double click on it, and it shall load. Install it, and then voila, you’re done. I don’t even have to restart to see the effects. Well for some users it’s worth a try to restart if you still cannot see it.

After you installed it, go back to your volume mixer, choose recording tab, check the Recording Tab. If you ticked “Show Disabled Devices” and “Show Disconnected Devices“, you should be able to see the Stereo Mix shown elegantly inside. Now right click on it, and enable it.

Enjoy.

This guide will work for Dell Vostro 1500 for sure. A screenie of it in my Vista Ultimate (Vostro 1500):

Sound
Screenshot of StereoMix Working In Windows Vista

Leave a comment if this guide is useful. Thanks!

References (I don’t steal ppl’s work or findings)

  1. http://forums.microsoft.com/msdn/showpost.aspx?pageindex=2&siteid=1&postid=1005274&sb=0&d=1&at=7&ft=11&tf=0&pageid=4
  2. http://www.techimo.com/forum/multimedia-audio/160431-stereo-mix-audio-recording-option-2.html

*Footnote — In case you’re wondering why I wrote this, I was attempting to use StereoMix for Audacity to record livestreaming, but was puzzled as it didn’t work and StereoMix is missing in Vista.

*Quote from MS Site from a Korean Dude

Hi

I’m an Korean, so I can’t speak English VERY fluently – but I can read all of the posts and I am understanding the problem. (If I have few spelling mistakes, if so, please just pass it on.)

From google search, I found that Computer makers (ex: sony) are shutting down ‘stereo mix’

to prevent illegal recording – (maybe like songs from iTunes or something : songs that have DRM(non copyable music files). (so, people are just turning on the song, and record it, and make it to a free-DRM file.))

So, some notebook makers disabled recording from computer’s direct streaming audio.

-> Like you said, It is not a hardware problem, because it works fine on XP – it means that exTongue TiedONY has blocked ‘stereo mix’ somehow on their pre-installed Vista.

Here is my help.

Before you start anything, turn on a music file – raise your volumes up and up!!!!

Test if sound is coming out of your speakers!! (If not, your speaker is a problem)

Download Virtual Audio Cable (search google or something – it is not a freeware – but try it first, then find a crack)

Install Virtual Audio Cable (VAC) on your computer.

(When installing —- Vista -> Popup named like “do you want to install this driver?” (red letters) pops out -> click ok or something, you NEED to install the driver)

Taskbar -> Go to the playback devices (right-click the speaker icon) – Select the ‘Playback’ tab.

There will be a new option named ‘Line 1’ or ‘VAC 1’ or SOMETHING that is similar like this.

Make that ‘Line 1’  Default. (There is a button named ‘Set Default’ below the window.)

Close all programs (specially programs that have sound – itunes, realplayer, windows media player

Then, run the program Audio Repeater (Included in the VAC that you installed-  search the start->all programs or the search program files in CSmile

Set ‘Wave in’ to ‘Line 1’

Set ‘Wave out’ to “SPEAKER” (or your computer’s original default selection – mine is Vaio VGN-CR220E and it is named ‘Speaker/HP’, so select this)

After this, click ‘Start’ tab below.

Then, turn on any music(ex: an mp3 file- a long one should be good so you can test on it) on your computer.

You should hear the sound from your speaker.

NOW, If you want to record this mp3 stream, just follow the bottom part.

You will see ‘Line 1’ on the recording tab. (Go to sound manager (right-click the speaker icon on your taskbar-> recording devices) -> ‘Recording’ tab -> make ‘Line 1’ Default)

Run Audacity (or any recording programs)

Run Audacity -> Edit -> Preferences -> Audio I/O tab -> See ‘Recording’  and make ‘device’ into ‘Line 1’

Enjoy Recording computer’s stereo!

p.s

Here is the problem -> you have to make Audio Repeater to the above settings every time you reboot, so

use it only when you need it! (So, : After Recording stereo from computer, change back to the normal notebook’s settings)

-> If you e-mail me, I can send you “Virtual Audio Cable (VAC)” by email.

My e-mail is jihoonhan@live.co.kr

Thanks for reading – hope it will work,

(Mine Vaio Notebook Labtop works this way)

Again, if this helps, please say thanks. =) — eXP

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

95 Responses to “Tutorial on How To Hack Sigmatel’s Driver for Stereo Mix”

  1. Corewave Says:

    Hello, I have the exact same problem as countless others– my stereo mix isn’t where it’s supposed to be. I tried all of your steps but my installation process froze up, time after time. This could be because I do not have a Dell, but a custom made computer, or it may happen because I do not have the Default installer. Could someone help me out?
    Thanks,
    Corewave.

  2. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    Hi Corewave,

    Are you by chance using an Intel Motherboard then? If yes head over to Intel and download their drivers, the one sized 90++MB. Repeat the steps and it should work.

    Else, you will have to refer back to your motherboard’s manufacturer and get their drivers. Dell’s driver won’t work on other computers I guess.

  3. Corewave Says:

    Hey Experience,
    Thanks a lot for the answer in such a short time. I’ll go ahead and look for their drivers.
    Thanks a lot again,
    Corewave

  4. Corewave Says:

    Sorry to bother you again Experience, but I am having problems finding that driver, could you prehaps provide a link? Thanks so much.
    Corewave

  5. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    Err if you’re refering to the intel drivers…

    I lost the link. I’ll see if I can find it again.

    You need to go here http://downloadcenter.intel.com/

    Then search for your motherboard’s model name, and look for sigmatel driver. Hope that helps.

  6. Corewave Says:

    Right, took my about an hour to figure out what my motherboard is, its an
    Intel® G965 Express Chipset, from the Intel® 965 Express Chipset Family. Havent found the Sigmatel driver for that motherboard yet though… I am really sorry to bother you like this…

  7. Corewave Says:

    Experience, if you cannot be bothered to search it out for me, tell me, and I will move onto another source of information which will hopefully solve my problem. I appreciate the amount of effort that you put into this guide, and the amount of effort that you put into helping me so far. I haven’t been able to find anything at all regarding the sigmatel driver for my motherboard, so I am basically facing a brick wall. Thanks anyways,
    Core.

  8. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    @Corewave — I thought you’re not expecting a reply from me. Maybe I interpreted your comment wrongly, sorry.

    Try this:
    http://www.intel-drivers.com/Intel-drivers/Intel-Desktop-Board-DG965RY-Sigmatel-(IDT)-92xx-Audio-Driver_71808.shtml

    No idea if it works or not.

    I just found out that my array mic is not working after I get my stereo mix is working… damnit. Gotta find ways to iron it out… if possible.

  9. Corewave Says:

    @ Experience, completely my fault for being so vague. The download does not work, it doesnt load and I recieve several error reports from my browsers (attempted Firefox, then IE). So close, but yet so far.

    Really is annoying how Microsoft can make life difficult for us isn’t it?

    Core.

  10. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    Err dude copy paste the whole link, don’t click on it, apparently the formatting done by WordPress is wrong. Notice that the last part is not included in the URL.

    Well you can try googling yourself using keywords like “Intel Motherboard G965″+Sigmatel Audio Driver etc. Play around with the keywords.

  11. Corewave Says:

    Yea mate, i copied the entire link, but the download doesnt work.

    Ill google around.

    Core.

  12. Sam Says:

    WORKED!!

    Worked on DELL INSPIRON 1525.

    THANKS MATE!!

  13. Kevin Says:

    Hi, I just got Vista 32bit Home Premium upgrade from XP SP2 and am running into this issue on a Gateway NX560XL laptop. Do you know where I can find the analogous Gateway driver to run in XP compatibility mode? Do I need to completely remove / reinstall Sigmatel? Thanks all.

  14. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    @Kevin, try the driver from Toshiba’s website.

  15. khan Says:

    hi
    when i try to install the driver i get this message

    This self extracting zip file is part of multidisk zip file. insert last disk of the set.

    can you help me with this please thanks

  16. Brud Says:

    😦 Didn’t work. I have a XPS 420, and, the installer started!! Then it tries to update the audio device info…. it shows the next error:

    ExitError:Error = The object Device is not present, restart the system and execute again the installer (it won’t work though).

    I don’t know if this was because of, in my desperation, i tried to mix contents of the R171789 with the R157052 (6.10.0.5511) installer. Damn, i tried to uninstall the sound driver, i don’t know what else can i do know. Is this a real hardware cap? Please answer i’m so fucked ;/

  17. Brud Says:

    Btw, i’ve just seen it wasn’t because of my previous try. Other users with XPS got the same error ;/ I’m just so unhappy and disappointed. They accepted making hardware cuts because of Vista policies (and agreements [cheaper copies?]). I’m really angry, and i’ll be sure to fill every forum, from the first to the last, sharing my experience (and the one from all other XPS / sigmatel users), and obviously, sugesting to everyone i know not to buy any Dell computer since it has capped hardware. We’re back to the Stone Age with Dell.

  18. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    @Brud — Too bad then. Since it’s hardware limitation, there’s nothing much you can do to help it then. =\

    But thanks for the info, I’ll update the post. I do not own a XPS so I wouldn’t know lolz.

  19. Brud Says:

    That’s good 🙂 If i buy a PCI card, will I lose the functionality of my front panel sound jacks? Thank you.

  20. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    Hmmmmmm your front jacks should be connected to your motherboard’s built in. So I think unless you rewire them you won’t be able to use them.

  21. TJ Says:

    Hi,
    I had the same problem with “Brud”…i have a dell XPS 420. I have done all the research i can do so now i am just wondering…if i buy a good sound card and install it will i be get stereo mix back with the sound card’s driver? I bought Camtasia 5.0 and can’t really use it because of the Sigmatel driver issue. Any help is greatly appreciated.

  22. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    You have to test it yourself, as I don’t own a XPS nor an extra soundcard. =\

  23. James Says:

    BRILLIANT. I can’t thank you enough! I’ve been trying to fix this problem for a while now 🙂

    Works like a charm on a Dell Inspiron 1525, no need to restart.

  24. victorco Says:

    I have a Dell XPS 410/9600 and Vista Home-Premiun. I had the same messages and questions as Brud.

    At last I could solve this Stereo-Mix problem, This is what I did:

    1. I installed Virtual Audio Cable 4.09 (VAC from Eugene V. Muzychenko).

    2. I foollowed the instructions a Korean guy give in: http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/ShowPost.aspx?PageIndex=5&SiteID=1&PageID=5&PostID=1005274

    3. That’s it .

    I tested with Nero, Camtasia and it worked.

  25. Nimrodpowerz Says:

    Hey Experience. I gave this tutorial a shot and the stereo mix works like a dream, the only problem is that my mic ain’t workin’ anymore. I have a Dell Inspiron 1525 if that helps. Thanks man.

  26. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    Lol I’m just back from my vacation. =D

    @James — Good for you then.

    @victorco — Thank you, I’ll add that to the post later.

    @Nimrodpowerz — Well tough luck then, as my array mic is not working too after that. I didn’t try the latest driver tho, you can give it a shot. I didn’t have the time for that.

  27. Neil Says:

    I just got a new Dell Inspiron 1525 and could not get Audio out to tv Via HDMI, uninstalled Sigmatel and now it’s fine.
    What am I giving up not having it? Will my mic still work, will hope to skype soon. Any help for an old bloke? cheers…..

  28. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    Err Neil did ya do what’s listed in the tutorial?

    If you did, then yes something might not work due to the variety of outcomes.

    If you didn’t, then too bad, something is wrong with your driver. Try to contact your manufacturer.

  29. thegirlinthecafe Says:

    Thank you this solved my problem. Bloody Dell.

  30. Gazornenplat Says:

    Dell Lattitude D531, WORKED! Thank you!

    By the way, to get stereo out to work after it showed up, I had to disable the other recording devices. Basically, whichever I want to enable, I have to disable the others.

    Thanks again!

  31. JairCrawford Says:

    I got it to work with a similar method, however, ever since doing so, my Stacgui.cpl won’t work anymore. It says, “Couldn’t find COM interface”.

  32. Doopus Says:

    Worked fine for me. Thanks a ton!

    Specs:

    Dell XPS M1530
    Windows Vista Home Premium

  33. Ping Says:

    Thanks for solution, it worked for 1525. But i lost HDMI function. i can’t sent output to HDMI port just only speaker. How can i recovery HDMI function in playback device.
    Thank you.

  34. K-Star Says:

    Will This Effect My Microphone If Im Using A Inspiron 1525 ?
    I Am A Music Producer And It Will Suck Big Time If It Does…

  35. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    @K-Star — If you’re a music producer you shouldn’t even be using the built-in mic.

  36. freecorder user Says:

    I BOW DOWN TO YOU!!!!!!!!! =D

  37. gr8ak1 Says:

    Thanks man but i no longer have the ability to use 5.1 speakers, any work around?

  38. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    gr8ak1 — Nope, I don’t know. Maybe you can figure it out if you mess around.

  39. Heidi Says:

    I tried this and did not work. I followed it step by step. I have a desktop Dell E521 Windows Vista 32-Bit with SigmaTel HD Audio Codec. dell.com had one driver update which I downloaded and installed but that didn’t give me a stereo mixer. No idea what it did. Any suggestions? I am not very tech savvy and can’t afford to buy anything at the moment. I mainly want to stream music in both Yahoo and Paltalk chat rooms. I know a lot of local bands/musicians/etc. that I want to try and promote in the chat rooms. Thanks.

  40. amit Says:

    sir,
    i have dell inspiron 1525 laptop,its have sigmatel sound card,i m using xp.my problem is that i can’t record my voice with music like realtek.
    Becoz i dont have mic option in voice control,and voice cancelation option.so i cant record by mic and stereo mix 2gether.plz anybody help me what should i do,plz plz……………………..

  41. Neema Says:

    eXPeri3nc3 – awfully sweet of you to go through all that to help us out.

    This driver has been fixed now, NOT to run on VISTA – I actually get a message: ” This is not the correct audio driver for this system. The installer will now exit”.

    It appears I have no choice but to abort installation at that point. Seems like Dell fixed it.

    What is infuriating is the SIGMATEL on my XPS Vista used to work up until 2 months ago and it must be one of those automated updates that got me !@#@# – screw DELL – AND – Microsoft (The latter is a mascot for COPYRIGHTS – haw haw haw…)

  42. Thien Nguyen Says:

    THANK YOU!! I finally have stereo mix on my dell xps m1330. Now I can record through camstudio from my speakers via windows vista!

  43. Flake Says:

    Hmm. Works fine but i constantly have to revert drivers to swap between the microphone jack and sound out mix :S

  44. entity3sf Says:

    RE: Big brother no sound, vista, dell esp: xps, …

    On Dell’s own website, a Dell rep/moderator states it is a hardware problem. Balderdash!

    Dell has a reputation of used car lot type methods.

    Buyer beware!!! Beware of Vista, Microsoft, and DO YOUR HOMEWORK!

    i failed to check ONE thing before buying my XPS: Would I have full sound card functionality. Why would i have thought otherwise? After all I was buying an XPS?:???????

    cheezus karit on a kraka, eff me! i will not buy a Dell or any other brand which entered into this unholy alliance. That is unless they all did.

    This is def a software problem.

    I use Screamer Radio freeware, and it records ip streams just fine.

    this is anti-consumer bull shyte.

    Just as there is open source software and copywritten software, so too there are sound content streams legal to record and distribute freely. Who the smack are these corporate b@$tards to force me to pay 1300 for a dell xps with no ability to use audacity and other sound equip?

    Curse them and their offspring until the 25th generation!!!!

    I am a musician so i will resolve this even if it means dual booting XP or UNIX.

    XP drivers installed in vista work (sigmatel), if only to prove it’s a software issue.

    Don’t use this solution though as it effs up other sound functionality.

  45. iaorana Says:

    Hi All,

    As advised, I downloaded the XP driver R171789.exe, then ran it in XP compatibility mode. Now I get Stereo Mix on my Inspiron 1520 🙂

    _Thank you_ eXPeri3nc3!

    Alain

  46. sToRm Says:

    Thank you! This works perfectly.

  47. bma27043 Says:

    Hi,

    I have Inspiron 1525, running Vista Home Premium. I installed R171789 driver. I did not see the sound panel changed to indicate stereo-mix, but the Audacity can now record both end of sounds. The only problem is, my headphone is no longer working, and have to use the built-in sound at all time. Any idea?

  48. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    @Bma270543 — Did you plug in your cable to the correct port (sorry I’m not insulting your intelligence)?

    Because I have no problems with that besides my array mic. if you plug a speaker output cable to your laptop does the speaker convey any sound?

    I believe you can check your sound control panel as well.

    eXP.

  49. bma27043 Says:

    Hi Experience. Thx for your reply.
    This is the head phone that I am connecting to the front jack. I have been using that connection when I was using Skype. My gf over in China was doing some singing when we chat, and I wanted to use the Audacity to record what she sings (of course, with her consent). I loaded the driver, and now the connection does not work. At first, I thought I did not get sound at all, because I was only using that connection. Then, I found it was the connect, and once I disconnect it, the built-in mic and speaker were just fine.
    Somehow, the sound does not go to the front jack anymore.
    The sound panel does not look any different from before I installed the driver. The only difference is that I can use Audacity, but not the front jack.

  50. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    Sounds familiar. Try googling for “sound appear in back jack instead of front jack desktop” or along those keywords and see what you can find. I remember my friend’s mic appears to have the same syndrome (non related to the driver issue I assume).

  51. SteveR Says:

    Hey guys I have a dell Inspiron 1525 Running windows vista and when i try to intall the driver it tells me wrong driver now exiting install can anyone help me with the problem

  52. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    Run it under WinXPSP2 as per said in the tutorial. Compat mode.

  53. SteveR Says:

    Well i did that prior and to my surprise i had a nice bsod waiting for me when i returned haha. Are there anyother soulutions

  54. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    Oh. Then read the quote by the Korean Dude from MS Site. That uses VAC.

    I never try that before but some says that it works.

  55. Barbara Says:

    Hi
    I too have a Dell XPS 420, however in my ignorance, and after talking to Dell, I installed a Creative SB – Fi Audio Creation Mode, hoping that this would do the trick; but to no avail. I still cannot record streaming audio. Do you know of a driver I could install that would make it possible?

  56. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    @Barbara — Did you try the installer I provided? (Dell original driver)

  57. VistaStomper Says:

    XPS users and possibly others – this is not an acceptable solution, to gain mix and lose mic, or other output capability.

    NOTE: A solution (new driver) will NOT be forthcoming from Sigma Tel.

    Sigma Tel has been purchased by another company.

    This is NOT a hardware problem in XPS or any other current laptop. If this were so, it would NOT be possible to boot to XP, use an XP driver, and have full functionality.

    • eXPeri3nc3 Says:

      Well, to you it’s not an acceptable solution, but for others it might be. =)

      … and I don’t really know about the hardware limitation part. Prolly some chaps from hardware manufacturers can tip in.

      • eXPeri3nc3 Says:

        No.

        I specifically said, and I repeat, this is NOT a solution for

        Dell XPS laptops running VISTA. The solution would be a new driver. A new driver will NOT be written. That is the current status for ALL DELL XPS LAPTOPS with the Sigma Tel driver under VISTA.

        In other words, it WILL NOT WORK for XPS laptops.

        Apparently it is workable for Inpirons.

  58. TimJ Says:

    Brilliant! Many thanks. It works on Dell M65 with Windows7 RC1.

    As mentioned above stacgui.cpl just gives a COM error but who cares.

  59. Blargh Says:

    The correct answer is to do:

    WASAPI loopback capture (record what you hear)

    Found here:

    http://blogs.msdn.com/matthew_van_eerde/archive/2008/12/16/sample-wasapi-loopback-capture-record-what-you-hear.aspx

    • eXPeri3nc3 Says:

      Thank you for the input. However your solution is not how to enable Stereo Mix for Sigmatel Drivers, but it is to capture speaker output.

  60. grimace74 Says:

    Thanks so much for this post I have a dell M6300 and this worked like a charm for it!! I have been fighting with the sigmatel drivers for months.

  61. Blargh Says:

    eXPeri3nc3 Says:
    “Thank you for the input. However your solution is not how to enable Stereo “Mix for Sigmatel Drivers, but it is to capture speaker output.”

    Right, it enables stereo mix for all drivers including Sigmatel; indirectly.

    🙂

  62. doleezy Says:

    dell inspirion 1525 ..vista ,worked for me! Thanks!!

  63. Juan Says:

    Hi guys,
    The EASIEST solution for this is to connect a cable from the line-out port (headphones) to the line-in port (microphone). This will not enable the stereo mix, but it will allow you to record the output using audacity 🙂

    Enjoy!
    Juan

  64. Twin Says:

    This is a great tutorial, but it doesn’t work for me. I have a Dell XPS M1530 with sigma tel. I tried the driver you provided and while it worked to install and granted my stereo mix it also took away my sound completely. So I went to dell’s site and got the latest driver, but when I try to run it in compatibility mode it just says “This is not the correct audio driver for this system.”

    What should I do? Would attempting this on a clean install of my OS work?

    • eXPeri3nc3 Says:

      The latest drivers are confirmed to be patched not to allow force install (hence the error message).

      You can opt for using the older drivers tho…

  65. Argentinian_Girl Says:

    hi experience!!! first at all, THANKS A LOT! it worked in my dell insipiron 1525 with sigmatel… i have been reading comments there were ppl can not work out it… i think the first advice is BE PATIENT!!! because i have been looking for help a lot time ago, and nothing happened.. so when you are downloading file, first as said experience , you have to change properties… and compatibility … and click xp sp2… later it said as ExitError:Error = The object Device is not present, restart the system and execute again the installer.. but dont worry ppl!! you have to restart and it reinstaller again itself and done! FOR ME IT WORKED, an if somebody need help, write me because i understand how hardest it seems… I’ll help you .

  66. Argentinian_Girl Says:

    its my GLAD! man! now i’ve saved your web page on my favorites toolbar! :=)

  67. Pooja Says:

    hey argentinian_girl N eXPeri3nc3

    err i have dell inspiron 1525…n i got stereo setting by this process as on this tutorial page…! but still having problem to set out voice setting..! actully i am yahoo user and want to play songs in confrence n room as well as…plzzzzzz tell me how to set it..!!:(

    • argentinian_girl Says:

      yes, i can… did you read my post? i guess you didn’t understand… but dont worry… i can explain you step by step… if you want, contact me and add me in yahoo so we can speak and i can help you…. have you got facebook? look for me as karu de la pradera in facebook and tell me in a email who are you …
      ok. but first i try to explain here….
      first at all… you have to download experience’s driver… it is in this page… when you have this driver right click on the installer, choose Properties.
      you might have to allow access or press OK.
      You should see a list of OS-es at the dropdown menu. Tick the “run this program in compatibility mode” -> Choose Windows XP (SP2), press Apply, and OK. and latter you have to restart your computer… twice , its i did, twice… and look in your audio it appear different, you have to look in volumen your icon ( next to clock toldbar) and in a space empty click right and put choose two option, it is all you need.
      i know it seems complicate but it is easy at the end… if you can not. just add me in facebook or add me in yahoo my address is karulita_20@yahoo.com.ar

      bye bye!!

  68. pooja Says:

    i added u in yahoo plz accept ma request…sorry i dont have facebook account..!!..dear i got n its visible …but no..out put of sound…actully em very poor of sound setting in vista…![:(]….blah blah..!

  69. pooja Says:

    ooooo laalala…..1st of all ty alot…eXPeri3nc3 that made up this page..today em very happy..it works…\:d/ ty to ary fed up wid gentinian_girl too…..as u told me here…same i restarted ma system twice…n finally i got voice…wid stereo mix..!..its really dreamy suprise..was very fed up with this vista sound…1but today em feeling lyk dancing…hehhe..!!

    Bye BYe
    POOja

  70. p0oja Says:

    ooooo laalala…..1st of all ty alot…eXPeri3nc3 that made up this page..today em very happy..it works…\:d/ ty to ary fed up wid gentinian_girl too…..as u told me here…same i restarted ma system twice…n finally i got voice…wid stereo mix..!..its really dreamy suprise..was very fed up with this vista sound…1but today em feeling lyk dancing…hehhe..!!

    Bye BYe
    POOja

  71. atomictop Says:

    1. Great site – many hand make light work – and this one’s been a bit a a B…….
    2. This is how I solved for VAIO VGN-AR71S laptop running Vista Home Premium.
    3. If you have a VAIO (add you own appropriate cuss expressions here) and tried VAC and backdated drivers without success there may be some hope for you yet.
    4. The following worked on this VGN-AR71S Sony machine and may work on other machines other than Sony VAIO – Please note: I got this idea from another thread where someone used a loop between the sound card speaker out and mic in – I have just added a Y-extension so that one can hear sound and not have to record in the deaf so to speak.
    5. Get yourself the following: One 3.5mm stereo Y-extension (2 female jacks connected to 1 male jack) – google ebay for this.
    6. One 3.5mm stereo male to male extension ( 2 male jacks at each end) – google ebay for this.
    7. Place the male jack of Y- extension into sound card ear-phones socket.
    8. Place one jack of male to male extension in sound card microphone socket and the other male jack in one of the female jacks of the Y-extension.
    9. If you now play a video or mp3 file you will not hear any sound because the sound card has a jack in the socket, which in this case is looped to the microphone socket.
    10. In order to hear sound connect your earphone or or speakers male jack to the other female jack of the the Y-extension.
    11. You should now the able to hear sound and also you should now be able to use Camstudio, Audacity etc, etc as normal – You should now get a recording with sound.
    12. If your sound is distorted or if you have no sound check out the following.
    13. Controls / Sound / Playback – make sure speakers/headphones is default. Click properties/levels tab – check that speaker/headphones speaker icon is not disabled. Check that speaker/headphone volume is not set too high. Check that the microphone speaker icon is not disabled. Check that the volume is not set too high. Do same for PC Beep.
    14. Now go to the recording tab – microphone should be default – highlight microphone and click properties/levels. Check that microphone speaker icon is not diabled, Check that the volume is not set too high on microphone and especially microphone boost.
    15. Test sound – Hopefully everthing should be OK.

  72. atomictop Says:

    1. Just a follow up from previous post – see atomictop.
    2. By connecting only the green (not pink) speaker jack of my headset to the female jack of the Y-extension (the male jack of the Y-extension is connected to the sound card headset socket) I was able to record voice.
    3. This was through Camstudio – other programs may produce better results.
    4. Voice by itself was OK but over Youtube video voice playback was not satisfactory – could hardly hear it.
    5. Obviously a software fix would be ideal but I haven’t manage that on this VGN-AR71S machine.

  73. atomictop Says:

    1. A last VITAL UPDATE – refer post by atomictop
    2. For BEST screen recording and playback sound: DISABLE microphone in the control panel /sound/playback/properties/levels Tab – blue microphone icon should has a red icon next to it.
    3.Go over to the control panel/sound/recording/properties/levels Tab – make sure that microphone boost is set to min (0.0dB) and that the microphone icon is not checked out with a red icon next to it.
    4. Should have tested more before posting but busy and have other machines.

  74. johny why Says:

    if your only need is to record whatever audio is playing on a vista pc which does not have “stereo mix” available (and the solutions above don’t work for you), here are two free methods:

    Freecorder. This ie browser plugin actually records all internal on the pc, including audio players, internet streams, drum machines, etc.

    http://www.applian.com/freecorder4/download.php

    loopback-capture (mentioned above): Appears to be someone’s little experiment. 9 Kb size. It terminates itself when it hears any sort of ‘glitch’ (eg, when you start or stop an audio program).

    http://blogs.msdn.com/matthew_van_eerde/archive/2008/12/16/sample-wasapi-loopback-capture-record-what-you-hear.aspx

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd316551(VS.85).aspx

  75. DrewZ Says:

    This is so frustrating. I am trying to record webinars in FLV using totalscreenrecorder for our own use – this is not illegal recording, this is webinars we schedule, hire and pay the presenter, and wish to record in FLV with audio so our community members can play back later. I am using a Dell Latitude E5500 with Vista. I tried all the various options on this page and a multitude of other forums and blogs. I ultimately had to reinstall and download all sorts of drivers from Dell. Once i got basic sound back up and running, i tried the above experience solution and midway install shield tells me that an object is missing and aborts – and i lose all kinds of function and have to install dell drivers again. When i try to install dell in XP compatibility mode I receive the error message about not being the right system.

    Does anyone have a copy/saved of the old driver that will finally allow me to record stereo/wav/mix – UGH HATE VISTA AND MICROSOFT

    DrewZ

  76. UG Says:

    eXPeri3nc3 you ARE THE MAN, thanks for helping install sound drivers for Vostro so I can see sound in……………

  77. Rob3441 Says:

    —————–WORKED ON XPS 420 HELL YEA!——————————
    Hi
    I’m an Korean, so I can’t speak English VERY fluently – but I can read all of the posts and I am understanding the problem. (If I have few spelling mistakes, if so, please just pass it on.)

    From google search, I found that Computer makers (ex: sony) are shutting down ‘stereo mix’

    to prevent illegal recording – (maybe like songs from iTunes or something : songs that have DRM(non copyable music files). (so, people are just turning on the song, and record it, and make it to a free-DRM file.))

    So, some notebook makers disabled recording from computer’s direct streaming audio.

    -> Like you said, It is not a hardware problem, because it works fine on XP – it means that exTongue TiedONY has blocked ‘stereo mix’ somehow on their pre-installed Vista.

    Here is my help.

    Before you start anything, turn on a music file – raise your volumes up and up!!!!

    Test if sound is coming out of your speakers!! (If not, your speaker is a problem)

    Download Virtual Audio Cable (search google or something – it is not a freeware – but try it first, then find a crack)

    Install Virtual Audio Cable (VAC) on your computer.

    (When installing —- Vista -> Popup named like “do you want to install this driver?” (red letters) pops out -> click ok or something, you NEED to install the driver)

    Taskbar -> Go to the playback devices (right-click the speaker icon) – Select the ‘Playback’ tab.

    There will be a new option named ‘Line 1’ or ‘VAC 1’ or SOMETHING that is similar like this.

    Make that ‘Line 1’ Default. (There is a button named ‘Set Default’ below the window.)

    Close all programs (specially programs that have sound – itunes, realplayer, windows media player)

    Then, run the program Audio Repeater (Included in the VAC that you installed- search the start->all programs or the search program files in CSmile

    Set ‘Wave in’ to ‘Line 1’

    Set ‘Wave out’ to “SPEAKER” (or your computer’s original default selection – mine is Vaio VGN-CR220E and it is named ‘Speaker/HP’, so select this)

    After this, click ‘Start’ tab below.

    Then, turn on any music(ex: an mp3 file- a long one should be good so you can test on it) on your computer.

    You should hear the sound from your speaker.

    NOW, If you want to record this mp3 stream, just follow the bottom part.

    You will see ‘Line 1’ on the recording tab. (Go to sound manager (right-click the speaker icon on your taskbar-> recording devices) -> ‘Recording’ tab -> make ‘Line 1’ Default)

    Run Audacity (or any recording programs)

    Run Audacity -> Edit -> Preferences -> Audio I/O tab -> See ‘Recording’ and make ‘device’ into ‘Line 1’

    Enjoy Recording computer’s stereo!

    p.s

    Here is the problem -> you have to make Audio Repeater to the above settings every time you reboot, so

    use it only when you need it! (So, : After Recording stereo from computer, change back to the normal notebook’s settings)

    Thanks for reading – hope it will work,
    ———————————————–
    http:// !i!s!o!h!u!n!t!.!c!o!m!/torrent_details/48629565/Virtual.Audio.Cable.v4.09?tab=summary

    http://alturl.com/eqkc

    ———————————————–

  78. Matt Says:

    I need a sigmatel fix for Windows 7 32-bit for a Dell Inspiron 1721. Any help?

  79. Leon Says:

    Dude. You rock! All I want to do is screencast with sound and the RIAA has no right to infringe like this. Inspiron 1501. Vista Home Edition.

    Leon

  80. djkrayon Says:

    Solved my problem!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Be sure to play around with the input monitor after you follow the below method:

    LOL xD

  81. rbk Says:

    Worked on Dell Inspiron 1525 with Windows 7…. thank you!

  82. best home stereo speakers Says:

    best home stereo speakers…

    […]Tutorial on How To Hack Sigmatel’s Driver for Stereo Mix « eXPeri3nc3′s Corner[…]…

  83. VCTools|Hack Forums|VCTools Forum|Hacking Forum Says:

    VCTools|Hack Forums|VCTools Forum|Hacking Forum…

    […]Tutorial on How To Hack Sigmatel’s Driver for Stereo Mix « eXPeri3nc3′s Corner[…]…

  84. hardrock guitarist Says:

    it installed stereomix and line in on my inspiron 1525, i want to record using line 6 pod into audacity, if i make stereomix default, it says line in unavailable and i dont get a level showing on audacity. can you make stereomix default and have line in enabled at same time ?

  85. richard Says:

    this Korean dude really helped. I tried to thank him via email, but the address doesn’t work :-/

  86. eXPeri3nc3 Says:

    Wow 4 years later people are still referring to this. Nice.

  87. Dell M2300 Says:

    Fantastic. i just lost half a recorded Skype conversation (the other guy) on my Dell M2300 and was reminded to finally fix this nonsense. Thanks to this page and the link I got my stereo mix back on my Win 7 machine without restart, and it shows again the stupidness of taking it out in the first place. My Skype conversation is mine. Thanks, and thanks to Dell and MS for nothing.

  88. mgadallahbh Says:

    Hello,
    This is Mohamed from EGYPT-cairo
    Download this driver and install in windows xp mode
    http://ftp.us.dell.com/audio/R171789.exe
    tested fine with windows 8 64x

    mgadallahbh@gmail.com

Leave a comment